Home Business Murilo Portugal reelected president of FEBRABAN’s executive board

Murilo Portugal reelected president of FEBRABAN’s executive board

Murilo Portugal, was re-elected to the presidency of the Brazilian Federation of Banks (FEBRABAN). The new mandate of the executive, who is leading the association of banks since 2011, runs until March 2020.


The Annual General Meeting of FEBRABAN – Brazilian Banking Federation met on Thursday (23) to elect the new members of its Board of Directors, Board of Executive Officers and Fiscal Council. The new chairman of the Board of Directors, elected unanimously, is Pedro Moreira Salles, chairman of the Board of Directors of Itaú Unibanco. For the presidency of the executive board of FEBRABAN was confirmed the current president, Murilo Portugal.

FEBRABAN thanked Roberto Setubal for his leadership and competence in running the entity, stating that  “the strategic vision, deep knowledge of the sector and pragmatism of Roberto Setubal were fundamental in the work of the Federation, and decisive factors for the results achieved in the six years in which he served (two terms) in the Board of Directors”, maximum number of terms allowed in the statute of the entity.

Pedro Moreira Salles is chairman of the Board of Directors of Itaú Unibanco Holding; Partner and co-president of Cambuhy Investimentos, TOTVS board member and member of the Board of Directors of Falconi Consultores Associados. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of the Osesp Foundation and a member of the Deliberative Council of INSPER. He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics and history from the University of California and a master’s degree in International Relations at Yale.

Murilo Portugal Filho has been President of FEBRABAN since 2011. With a long public service career, he worked as economic advisor to the President of the Republic, in the Ministry of Planning and in the Ministry of Finance, where he was  Treasury Secretary from 1992 to 1996 and deputy minister in 2005 and 2006 He was Executive Director of the World Bank and Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund, where he also served as Deputy Managing Director. He holds a Bachelor of Law from Universidade Federal Fluminense, a degree in Economic Development from the University of Cambridge and a master’s degree in Economics from the University of Manchester, England. He was born in June of 1948.

According to the decision of the General Assembly, the Executive Board, Executive Board and Fiscal Council of FEBRABAN have now  the following composition:

Directing Council – FEBRABAN – Mandate March / 2017 – March / 2020
Representative / Institution
Pedro Moreira Salles – President Itaú Unibanco S.A.
Anis Chacur Neto – Banco ABC Brasil S.A.
Carlos Alberto Vieira Banco – Safra S.A.
Elcio Jorge dos Santos – Banco Votorantim S.A
Gilberto Magalhães Occhi – Caixa Econômica Federal
Hélio Lima Magalhães – Citibank N.A.
José de Menezes Berenguer Neto – Bank J. P. Morgan S.A.
Luiz Carlos Trabuco Cappi – Banco Bradesco S.A.
Luiz Gonzaga Veras Mota – State Bank of Rio Grande do Sul S.A.
Luiz Horácio da Silva Montenegro – Toyota do Brasil S.A.
Manoel Felix Cintra Neto – Banco Indusval S.A.
Michel Neves Sarkis – Banestes SA – Bank of the State of Espirito Santo
Paulo Guilherme Monteiro Lobato Ribeiro- Banco Alfa S.A.
Paulo Rogério Caffarelli – Banco do Brasil S.A.
Pedro Henrique Mariani Bittencourt -Banco BBM S.A.
Roberto Balls Sallouti – Banco BTG Pactual S.A.
Sandrine Ferdane Chaverot – BNP Paribas Brazil S.A.
Sasson Dayan – Banco Daycoval S.A.
Sérgio Agapito Lires Rial – Banco Santander (Brazil) S.A

Board of Directors – FEBRABAN – Mandate March / 2017 – March / 2020
Representative / Institution
Murilo Portugal Filho – President
Alexandre da Silva Glüher – Vice-President (Banco Bradesco SA)
Claudia Politanski – Vice President (Itaú Unibanco S.A)
Alvir A. Hoffmann – Executive Vice President
Álvaro Augusto Vidigal (Banco Paulista S.A.)
Elcio Jorge dos Santos (Banco Votorantim S.A.)
Érico Sodré Quirino Ferreira (ACREFI)
José de Menezes Berenguer Neto (Bank J. P. Morgan S.A.)
José de Paiva Ferreira (Banco Santander Brasil S.A.)
José Henrique Marques da Cruz (Caixa Econômica Federal)
Marcio Hamilton Ferreira (Banco do Brasil S.A.)
Oswaldo de Assis Filho (Banco BTG Pactual S.A.)
Pedro Paulo Giubbina Lorenzini (Citibank N.A.)
Silvio Aparecido de Carvalho (Banco Safra S.A.)

Fiscal Council – FEBRABAN – Mandate March / 2017 – March / 2020
Representative / INSTITUTION
Eduardo Cesar Pasa- Banco do Brasil S.A.
Jorge Andrade Costa – Banco Bradesco S.A.
Rodrigo Andrade de Morais – Itaú Unibanco S.A.

Amancio Acurcio Gouveia- Banco Santander (Brazil) S.A.