Home IBGE New Directors Are Appointed to IBGE

New Directors Are Appointed to IBGE



The directors of Research, Claudio Dutra Crespo, and Informatics of the Brazilian Geography and Statistics Institute (IBGE) Jose Santana, by the of the , Guerra. In place of Crespo assumes the demographer and economist Eduardo Rios-Neto. To replace Bevilaqua was appointed economist David Wu Tai.

According to IBGE, the new Director of Research is a retired professor at the Federal University of Minas Gerais and a researcher at the Center for Regional Development and Planning of the Faculty of Economic Sciences of the Federal University of Minas Gerais (CEDEPLAR/UFMG).

Rios-Neto also headed the Brazilian Association of Population Studies (ABEP) between 1998 and 2002 and is a full member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. He was also chair of the National Population and Development Commission (2004-2010) and vice chair of the Organizing Committee of the Commission on Population and Development of the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (UN) in 2010. Rios-Neto is PhD in demography from the University of California/Berkeley and postdoctoral fellow from the University of Texas-Austin.

The new Chief Information Officer David Wu Tai has been an IBGE employee for 40 years and has held the positions of the coordinator of Consolidated Accounts of the Public Sector, coordinator of the Census in the State of São Paulo, head of Collection Division and delegate of the State Unit of Sao Paulo.

Wu Tai was General Director and Operational Coordinator of the Census and served as general coordinator of the Documentation and Information Dissemination Center (CDDI), chairs the IBGE Secrecy Committee and holds a degree in Economics from FAAP/SP and a master’s degree in administration applied to the economy by FGV/SP.

The president of the institute also decided that the current advisor in the Center for Documentation and Information Dissemination, Marise Maria Ferreira, will take up the position of General Coordinator of CDDI.

Susana Cordeiro Guerra thanked the performance of Crespo and Bevilaqua and praised their work. “The president expresses his appreciation and recognition for the commitment, technical quality and institutional commitment demonstrated by the directors Cláudio Crespo and José Santana Bevilaqua during the period in which they worked together,” the IBGE said in a statement.